Bumbleberry Cobbler
[I need a better picture -- this one doesn't do it justice.  But, until I have one, I might as well put the rest of this post up because it is ready to go!]

My grandmother taught me this recipe and it is my very favorite summer treat. This recipe is fun and flexible — I am always adding, subtracting and substituting ingredients. I have been making this almost every week recently, the rhubarb at the farmer’s market has been exceptional. I’ve been substituting extra rhubarb (5 stalks or so) for the apple and adding a bit of sugar to the filling (when I remember) and cooking it as a cobbler instead of a pie. The only problem is that I can eat the entire thing in one sitting. Can you tell I’ve got a sweet tooth?

The Crust:
1 1/3 cups flour, plus some for rolling the dough
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 stick of butter, chilled and cut into pieces
3-5 tablespoons cold water

Mix flour, sugar and salt together in your bowl (or your food processor bowl).
Add the pieces of chilled butter.
Use a pastry cutter to combine flour mixture and butter until it has a crumbly texture (or process in the food processor until crumbly
Add the water, one tablespoon at a time, and use a large spoon or spatula to press the mixture together.
Once the dough sticks together use your hands to pack it into a ball.
Flatten it a little and set it on floured parchment or waxed paper.
Roll out slightly larger than your pie pan with a rolling pin.
Gently, flip the dough and paper into your pie pan and peel off the paper.
Press the dough into the pie pan and make sure that the dough reaches the top edge of the pan all the way around.

The crust is easier to make with a food processor. A pre-made pie crust or no crust at all can be used to make the recipe simpler and faster.

The Filling:
2 apples, skinned and chopped (I like Macintosh apples which are readily available at many grocery stores — they cook in pretty well. Other good varieties of pie apples are often available at our farmers market.)
2 cups mixed berries; fresh or frozen (I like the packages of frozen mixed berries.)
2-3 stalks rhubarb, chopped
1/4 cup tapioca

Mix all ingredients in the mixing bowl with a large spoon.
Spoon the mixture into pie pan until it is full but not overly full. (Don’t want it to boil over!)
If you have extra filling you can put it in a small oven safe bowl and top with a bit of extra crumble for a mini-cobbler.

The Crumble:
1 stick of butter, chilled and cut into pieces
3/4 cup oats (whole or quick, both work just fine)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar (I like dark brown sugar)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup flour (I like whole wheat flour)

Mix oats, brown sugar, sugar and flour in a bowl (or food processor bowl).
Use a pastry cutter (or food processor) to combine ingredients until they form a crumbly mix.
Top the pie generously with crumble.

The crumble is also easier to make with a food processor but I often do it by hand as well.

Baking your Bumbleberry Pie:
Bake at 350˚ for 30-45 minutes until crumble and pie crust are golden brown and the fruit is bubbling. Time will be slightly shorter if you use fresh fruit and slightly longer if you use frozen fruit.

