Today (obviously) isn’t Thanksgiving Day, but I figure I am still thankful so this post is not too late.  We had a delicious meal with family and it was a lovely way to spend the holiday.  I thought I’d share a couple of the recipes I made.

A couple of days before Thanksgiving I made this delicious Banana Pumpkin Bread from Rebecca Scritchfield’s Balanced Health and Nutrition.  I made fresh pumpkin puree and used about two cups instead of using a can.  I also added a pinch of cloves and a pinch of black pepper.  It took a bit longer to bake than I expected but it was worth the wait.  Yum.

Pumpkin Banana Bread

Then, for the big day, I made an apple pie.  I am not much of a pumpkin pie fan, which I realize many people would think is crazy, but if I am making it, I prefer apple.  I used Nittany and Macintosh apples and it was pretty darn good.  Here is the recipe:

Pie crust (I used Betty Crocker’s boxed crust, it is easy and tastes good)
7 apples (4 Macintosh, 3 Nittany), peeled and cut into chunks
2 Tbsp (or so) butter
2 Tbsp flour (I used Sir Arthur’s white whole wheat)
1/4 cup (or so) sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
pinch cloves
pinch nutmeg

Put the bottom pie crust in the tin. Mix the flour, sugar, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg. Pour mixture over the apples and stir gently until coated. Pour apples into pie tin. Slice butter into small pats and place on top of the apples. Put the top layer of crust on and cut a few holes (I made little hearts) for ventilation. Cook for ten minutes at 400 and then turn down to 350 for another 30-40 minutes until the crust is nice and golden brown. Enjoy.

Apple Pie

