I was floundering the other night trying to decide what to do for dinner.  We had been to the farmers market that day and I had made my Nana’s potato salad (recipe below) but I had no idea what we were going to have beyond that.  Then, all of a sudden it came to me that all of the ingredients we had would be perfect for salad night.  And, in order to keep the babes interested in salad night, I put everything in separate bowls so they could do it themselves. Unfortunately, we ate the entire quart of orange cherry tomatoes (not sure what variety) before they could make it to the salad bar, they were just too sweet and delicious.

Make Your Own Salad Night

I also made Nana’s bumbleberry cobbler, easier than a pie but still as delicious as anything.  I  didn’t have any apples, so it was just berries and rhubarb.  Plus, I almost burned it by absentmindedly going for a walk with the babes while it was in the oven.  I guess the smell had not filled up the house enough yet.  I will post the recipe for that one another day, it is sort of ad lib anyway.

The babes enjoyed it enough, though I wouldn’t say it was as big a hit as pizza night.  At any rate, I enjoyed it immensely and it was so good to have such nice produce from the market.

Nana’s New Potato Salad

2 lbs new potatoes
3 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp white vinegar
2 Tbsp cider vinegar
1/4 cup parsley
3 or 4 green onions chopped fine
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper

Boil potatoes and cut into pieces while hot. Mix other ingredients in a bowl. Pour over hot potatoes. Enjoy hot or cold. (This recipe is sort of loose, I always add a bit more vinegar or onion depending on the taste. Don’t be afraid to tweak.)

