I finished my first piece of clothing for my daughter.  It took me a long time, mostly because it is hard to find time to sit and sew and also partly because I had to read each step in the instructions 600 times before actually doing anything.  By the end of the day, I am usually too tired to focus on something detailed (or reading and rereading instructions) and during the day there is no time chasing two toddlers around.  Nonetheless, I got it done.  And, I am pretty darn proud of it! 

I have always found patterns rather intimidating.  I am a pretty adventurous person but for some reason an envelope-enclosed tissue paper clothing pattern seemed daunting.  Probably because I am more a make-it-up-as-you-go type person, which is good for lots of things but not necessarily for someone with approximately no clothes-making experience trying to make a dress with a zipper.  So, I knew that in order for this to work, I needed to follow the pattern.  

I picked this pattern (Butterick See & Sew B4765), which says in a big red box on the front “Yes! It’s easy.”  I took that as a sign that I could probably figure it out.  Well, when I got home and started trying to figure out what size to cut, it took me at least two nights to realize that I had bought the smaller of the two pattern sizes (A or 1, 2, 3 instead of B or 4, 5, 6).  Turns out that was fine, the largest size in the A package (3), is just about right for my tall 2.5 year old.  I’m sure if I was a bit more experienced, I probably could have altered it as well, but, if I was more advanced, I probably wouldn’t have bought what I thought was the wrong size!

So, here it is.  I used some almost gauzy cotton fabric, which I wouldn’t do again.  It was hard to work with and frayed a lot at the edges.  Nonetheless, I managed to get it done, even if the stitching around the zipper is slightly crooked.  Oh, and I wanted to take pictures while it was on, but I haven’t actually been able to get her out of her Cinderella nightgown to wear it yet.  Ahh, toddlers.

The dress:

The Dress

Detail of gathering:

The Dress

Detail of pocket (for adventure walks, of course):

The Dress

