Ever since we decided to send Eleanor to nursery school, I have been dreaming of back-to-school supplies.  For me, not much compares to a fresh bunch of pencils, erasers, notebooks, and folders.  (I wonder if they still make Trapper Keepers?)  Anyway, I feel like any school child, even a nursery school child, needs a bag to hold all of these little luxuries.  In this case though, it will principally serve to bring artwork and notes home, so I decided a tote bag was the best option.

I looked around a bit for a tutorial that would serve my purposes.  I found approximately what I was looking for at Not So Fancy Nancy, and decided I was confident enough (maybe overly so!) to adapt the tutorial to the vision in my head.  I used smaller proportions than her tutorial called for (after all, it is for a preschooler), I added a layer of flannel inside the bird fabric to give it more structure, and I opted out of the small handles.  Oh, and I added a couple of appliques from the interior fabric to the outside of the bag before I started sewing for a bit of extra charm.

Once I had finished, I decided the bag was a bit of an amorphous blob so I pinned the corners down and stitched along the edges.  This gave it a bit more of a rectangular shape, which pleased me. One problem I did have though, was that the heavy denim, plus flannel, plus cotton interior fabric made it so thick that my machine couldn’t make it all the way through the area by the strap.  So, I just decided not to worry about it.  I went as far as I could and that was that.  The bag also ended up being a bit long for Eleanor, but I figure she can grow into it — and I will be able to carry it over my shoulder as well.  What do you think?

School Bag

School Bag

School Bag

