I finally finished the dollhouse.  At least, I think I am finished.  Does it need a door and a window?  Or some flowers?  I can’t decide.  So I haven’t added any yet.

Dollhouse

I used a dark heavy denim for the house, a grey linen napkin for the roof, an embroidered linen for the wall paper and green flannel for the garden.

Dollhouse

As I mentioned before, the pattern is up at UK Lass in the US’s blog. I made a few small adjustments to her pattern: 1) instead of duct taping the batting on, I loosely stitched it on; 2) only one handle instead of two (my own laziness); 3) I put the button loop elastics in by sewing first then ripping out a small place for them with my seam ripper, which was a mistake the first time but it worked well so I did it on the other side too; and 4) I sewed through all of the spaces in between plastic. I just figured it would hold up better that way, even if there is a seam in the garden.

Dollhouse

It appears to be a hit. Eleanor already informed me that Hello Kitty lives there, apparently along with a small cow.

And, on another totally random note, doing this project reminded me of the show “The Polka Dot Door”.  We used to watch it when we would visit my Nana and for some reason, the theme song has always stuck with me.  Just for fun I looked it up on You Tube, check it out for yourself here.

