Well, my grand intentions to make Eleanor’s blue dinosaur costume (with teeth) fell through, but luckily there was a blue dinosaur towel-cape thing at World Market (random I know), which had teeth and is working perfectly for her various Halloween activities.  Good news is, I’ll be able to use the blue fabric for some other fun project.

Anyway, today was pumpkin carving day.  I was thinking about it last night as I was going to sleep and decided I wanted to do a proper Jack-o-lantern this year.  The wheels started turning and I came up with the idea to make it an Obama-08-lantern.  (Hopefully, a tiny bit of politics won’t scare anyone away!)  My thought was to use his name to make the teeth but as I got to imagining what it would look like, I realized that his logo would be easy to make into eyes and 08 could be the nose.  I drew it out, pinned it on, marked the pumpkin and cut it out.  Easy as pie.  Well, almost.  I actually knocked off the tooth in the “M” but fixed it by using a toothpick.

Obama-08-lantern

Obama-08-lantern

Obama-08-lantern

I realize there will probably be some folks who are able to carve Barack Obama’s actual likeness into the pumpkin, and I will be glad to see those pumpkins, but with two little kids hanging off my legs I didn’t have time to try and figure that out.  If you want to make an Obama-08-lantern too, you can print off the picture from Flickr and pin it to your own pumpkin — or, if that doesn’t work, let me know and I can email a PDF.  Send me a note if you do make one, I’d love to see!

Obama-08-lantern

Obama-08-lantern

Obama Pumpkin Template

Happy Halloween to everyone (and don’t forget to vote on Tuesday).

Obama-08-lantern

