My good friend Sarah just had her new baby and he is beautiful! I made him a little swaddling blanket somewhat similar to this one in green flannel. Unfortunately, I did not photograph it before giving it to him. However, I did take a couple of pictures of the gift for his big sister.

Little Chick

I found this cute little Love Bird here. My original idea was to make a baby chick to go in the (slightly) bigger chick’s pouch, but it didn’t happen before the recipient’s baby brother arrived and a heart was quicker. The top of the chick is an old linen cocktail napkin I picked up at a rummage sale and the bottom is a bit of beautiful cotton from the first quilt I ever made. The feet, beak and heart are some wool felt that think is just lovely (from here). I used the down from an old pillow that had fallen apart to stuff it and it made a huge, gigantic mess all over the sewing/laundry room, but the end result was nice so it was worth it. Despite my best efforts to follow the pattern exactly, the little chick also turned out a bit square. I’m not sure why, maybe my inexperience on the machine? Or stuffing it too full? I would like to try this again though and see if I could make a more egg shaped chick, maybe when I have some extra free time.

Little Chick

