I made this little boy doll for a friend who is having a baby boy any time now.  The little doll sort of ended up looking a bit like a Voodoo doll, or maybe the runaway gingerbread man, but it was soft and lovey nonetheless.  I actually tried to make a last minute pair of shorts so he wouldn’t be quite so nudie but the shorts were too small and his legs were smooshing out of the bottom in a sort of obscene way, so I decided he would just have to go without.

Doll

The body was made of a soft cotton flannel and the hair, eyes, mouth and heart were all nice wool felt.  I stuffed him with tulle, partly because I didn’t have any wool, which would have been my preference, but also so he could go directly in the washing machine.  Actually, now that I think of it, maybe putting him in the washing machine would make the wool hair go funky.  Hmm.

Doll

