Easter Eggs

We had a lovely time dying Easter eggs this morning.  I wanted to try out the tie dying method that I saw here and here, but since we already had two packages of the little tablets, I decided we might as well use them.  Plus, the kids are so small that wrapping eggs in various materials is probably a bit much yet.  But let me tell you, throwing (yes, throwing!) eggs into cups of brightly colored dye is great fun.

Easter Eggs

Easter Eggs

I also had, what I thought to be  a pretty great idea — using the leftover dye to color a couple of white playsilks that we had not dyed the last time when we tried the Kool Aid method.  I mixed the colors together so there was enough (blue + purple, red + orange, and green + yellow) and it worked like magic.

More Playsilks

More Playsilks

I’m not sure how colorfast the silks will be but the tablets use vinegar as the mordant, which is what we used with the Kool Aid, so hopefully it will stay put.  I assume that the egg dyes are relatively non-toxic, probably at least as much so as Kool Aid.  Also, the colors were much more vibrant than the Kool Aid (with the exception of the red/orange) and we were not able to find a blue in the Kool Aid so this worked just perfectly.  In fact, it worked so well, I am considering going to Target or CVS the day after Easter and buying a buying a bunch of dye kits on sale!

More Playsilks

