I love rhubarb.  Some people put on weight during the holiday season, I put on weight during rhubarb season.  I just can help myself from buying bunches of it at the farmer’s market.  Once I have it, I can’t help but make pies.  The problem is, I am the only one in the house who really enjoys rhubarb + anything pies, and I always end up eating the entire thing in just a couple of sittings.  So, in an attempt to maintain control, I froze a bunch of chopped rhubarb so that I can space out the pies a bit.  However, I did make the mistake of trying some strawberry rhubarb preserves using this recipe with slightly less sugar.

Strawberry Rhubarb Jam and Fresh Bread

Strawberry Rhubarb Jam and Fresh Bread

Paired with butter and homemade bread (with this recipe, substituting honey for sugar) — I’m in trouble again.  And, I haven’t even attempted my mother-in-law’s amazing rhubarb custard dessert, because I know that would be too much for me to resist.

Strawberry Rhubarb Jam and Fresh Bread

